Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care

Senate Joint Resolution 46

Relating to: strongly urging Congress and the Administration to enact the Pharmaceutical Market Access Act or similar legislation allowing individuals and pharmacies in the United States to import and re-import prescription medications purchased in other countries that have regulatory safeguards for the manufacture and distribution of drugs comparable to regulatory safeguards in the United States.

By Senators Robson, Breske, Carpenter, Chvala, Decker, Erpenbach, Lassa, Risser, Moore, Brown, Hansen, Coggs and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Seratti, Berceau, Hines, Huber, Lothian, Molepske, Pocan, Turner, Zepnick, Taylor and Miller.

October 15, 2003 Referred to Committee on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care.

February 19, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Senators Roessler, Brown, Welch, Schultz,

Robson, Chvala, Jauch and Carpenter.

Absent: (1) Senator Kanavas.

Appearances For

- Secretary Helene Nelson, Department of Health and Family Services, 1 W Wilson, Rm 650, Madison, WI
- Senator Judith Robson, 15th Senate District
- Susan Grossenbach, Self, Madison
- Ty Bollard, Self, Janesville
- William Scanlou, Platform and Resolution Committee, WI. Democratic Party

Oliver Haase, WI. Council of Senior Citizens, Greendale
Rob Wilkinson, Self, Janesville
Michael Fraizer, Self, Janesville
Judy Speece, Self, Milton
Gerald Martin, WI. Council of Senior Citizens, Franklin
Gail Slepekis, Self, Milton
David Arbuthnot, Self, Pewaukee
Lori Kidd, Self, Janesville
Dr. Charles Benedict, Self, Beloit

Appearances Against

	☐ John Graham, The Fraiser Institute, John is from Vancover, BC, Canada
	Appearances for Information Only ☐ Tom Engels, WI. Pharmacy Society, Madison ☐ John Bohlman, Self, Madison ☐ Sue Sutter, Pharmacy Examining Board, Madison ☐ Dr. Jeffrey Thomas, Well Stone Free Clinic, Janesville
	Registrations For Jack O'Meara, WI. Association of School Nurses, Madison June Armfield, Self, Janesville Gladys Kayhs, Self, Janesville Edwin Kayhs, Self, Janesville Constance Matusiak, Self, Beloit Howard Armfield, Self, Janesville Jean Green, Self, Milton Jeanine Maquire, Self, Janesville Edwin Green, Self, Milton Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, Wisconsin Counties Association, Madison Virginia Socwell, Self, Whitewater Roland Socwell, Self, Whitewater Kathi Monroe, Self, Beloit Representative Lorraine Seratti, 36th Assembly District Senator Jon Erpenbach, Self, Middleton John Tharp, Self, Beloit Fredericka Tharp, Self, Beloit Linda Farley, MD, Physicians for National Health Plan; Coalition for WI. Health, Verona David Parr, Janesville Education Association, Janesville Susan McMuray, AFSCME Sheila DeForest-Davis, Self, Beloit
	Registrations Against ☐ Peter Krammer, Glaxo Smith Kline, Madison ☐ Peter Krammer, Abbott Labs, Madison
March 11, 2004	Failed to adopt pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Jennifer Halbur Committee Clerk