## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Agriculture**

### **Assembly Joint Resolution 52**

Relating to: calling for concerted action to support, renew, and expand the agricultural economy in Wisconsin.

By Representatives Ott, Gronemus, Towns, Ainsworth, Gard, Kreibich, McCormick, Ward, Kestell, Freese, Weber, Nischke, Lothian, Loeffelholz, Ladwig, Musser, Olsen, Krawczyk, Hahn, Owens, M. Lehman, LeMahieu, Van Roy, Balow, Pope-Roberts, J. Wood, Hines, M. Williams, Gielow, Vruwink, Hebl, Plouff, Petrowski, Bies, Molepske and Miller; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Welch, Brown, Decker, A. Lasee, Leibham, Roessler, S. Fitzgerald, Harsdorf, Lassa and Hansen.

October 27, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

October 30, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

- Present: (14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
- Absent: (1) Representative Ainsworth.

## Appearances For

• State Representative Al Ott, 3rd Assembly District

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## **Registrations For**

- □ State Senator Bob Welch, 14th Senate District
- Amy Winters, Wisconsin Fertilizer & Chemical Assn,
  Wisconsin Agribusiness Council, Crop Life America, Madison
- □ John Manske, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison
- Ron Kuehn, WI Pork Producers, WI Potato & Vegetable Growers, WI Cranberry Growers, WI Muck Farmers, WI Agriservice Association, Madison

#### **Registrations Against**

 $\Box$  None.

## October 30, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

- Present: (14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
- Absent: (1) Representative Ainsworth.

Moved by Representative Hines, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Joint Resolution 52** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
   Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Ainsworth.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Erin Napralla Committee Clerk