Assembly Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Joint Resolution 10

Relating to: 4-year terms of office for certain county officers (first consideration).

By Representatives M. Williams, Krawczyk, Foti, Kerkman, Rhoades, Musser, Albers, Olsen, Hundertmark, Krusick, Seratti, M. Lehman, Pettis, Jeskewitz, Vrakas, Powers, Gunderson, McCormick, Towns, Ladwig, Kreibich, Bies, Wieckert, Grothman, Gielow, Underheim, Friske, Lassa, Ainsworth, Nischke, Gronemus, Ott, Van Roy, Turner, Gottlieb, Freese, Hahn, Johnsrud, Schooff, Weber, A. Williams and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Stepp, Breske, Harsdorf, Lazich, Risser, A. Lasee, Roessler, Welch, Kedzie, Schultz and Hansen.

January 28, 2003 Referred to Committee on State Affairs.

March 4, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives J. Fitzgerald, Krawczyk,

Musser, M. Lehman, Gundrum, Petrowski,

Turner and W. Wood.

Absent: (1) Representative Young.

Appearances For

- Senator Ron Brown
- Paul Janquart, Brown County Clerk of Courts
- Cathy Williquette, Brown County
- Darlene Marcelle, County Clerks Association
- Kerry Blaney, WI County Treasurers Association
- Preston Jones, WI Register of Deeds Association; WI County Constitutional Officers Association
- Ed Bret, Manitowoc County
- Marilyn Merten, WI County Clerks Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative Mary Williams
- Kathleen Bernier, WI County Clerks Association
- Janet Loomis', WI County Clerks Association
- Darlene Navis, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.

- Deanna Reilly, Mothers Against Drunk Driving
- Jeffery Schmidt, WI Clerks of Circuit Courts
- John Stanley, WI Coroners & Medical Examiners
- Marilyn Mueller, Kewaunee County
- Linda Jeske, Kewaunee County
- Laralee Lasley, Oconto County
- Annette Jeske, Kewaunee County
- Dixie Edge, Iowa County
- Sue Winninghoff, Winnebago County
- Melanie Hucmpfner, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Jolene Callahan, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Jodi Helgeson, Adams County
- Jane Licht, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Sally Barbeau, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- John LaFave, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- K. Randal Leyes, Rock County
- John Burke, Monroe County
- Ron Voight, Ozaukee County
- Louise Principe, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Charlene Peterson, WI County Clerks Assoc.
- Joe Bauknecht, WI Clerks of Circuit Courts
- Sharon Marten, Washington County
- Michael Hasslinger, Waukesha County
- Diane Poach, Washburn County
- Gary Schindler, Waushara County
- Betty Bolton, Vernon County
- Rene Krause, Wood County
- Connie Woolever, Walworth County
- Gail Gentz, WI Clerk of Cicuit Courts
- Edna Highland, WI County Clerks Assoc,
- Marvel Lemke, Taylor County
- Cindy Wiseuski, Portage County
- B Wegner, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Michael Sydoa, Marthon County
- Ray Walsh, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Rose Ottum, WI Register of Deeds
- Lois Hagedoun, Clark County
- Karen Miller, Ashland County
- Lynne Reach, Green Lake County
- Deborah Flock, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Shari Marg, Jackson County
- Jennifer Sunstrom, Wisconsin Counties Association
- Representative Garey Bies
- Representative Steven Foti

- Mary Krueger, Wisconsin County Treasurers Assoc.
- Susan Ertmer, WI County Clerks Assoc.
- Mary Kaiser, Eau Claire County
- Kathy Hanson, Douglas County
- Marilyn Jadin, Door County
- Penny Judd, Columbia County
- Laura Henning-Lorenz, WI County Treasurers Assoc.
- Mark Ladd, Racine County
- Larry Eckert, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Dina Mumford, WI County Treasurers Assoc.
- Janice Flenz, WI Register of Deeds Assoc.
- Nancy Christensen, WI County Clerks Assoc.
- Teri Jacobson, Kenosha County Treasurer
- Catherline Oberle, Racine County

Registrations Against

• None.

April 1, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives J. Fitzgerald, Musser, M. Lehman, Gundrum, Petrowski, Turner, W.

Wood and Young.

Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

Moved by Representative Musser, seconded by Representative M. Lehman that **Assembly Joint Resolution 10** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representatives J. Fitzgerald, Musser, M. Lehman, Gundrum, Petrowski, Turner and Young.

Noes: (1) Representative W. Wood. Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Mike Welsh Committee Clerk