Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 812

Relating to: registration of livestock premises and granting rule-making authority. By Representatives Gronemus, Ott, Vruwink, M. Williams, Molepske, Loeffelholz, Balow, Plouff, Kestell, Hines and Suder; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Lassa, Brown, Kedzie and Hansen.

February 05, 2004 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

February 19, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth,
Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns,
Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and
Molepske.

Absent: (2) Representatives Suder and Hebl.

Appearances For

- Secretary Rod Nilsestuen, DATCP, Madison
- Dr. Robert Ehlenfeldt, DATCP, Madison
- Bill Oemichen, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison
- Deb Reinhart, Wisconsin Livestock Identification Consortium, New Holstein
- Karen Endres, Dairy Business Association, Waunakee
- Paul Zimmerman, WI Farm Bureau Federation, Madison
- R.F. (Dick) Hauser, Wisconsin Cattlemen's Association, Richland Center
- Deborah Gay, Wisconsin Pork Association, Reeseville
- Don Hamm, National Farmers Organization, Fredonia
- Jolene Plautz, Wisconsin State Horse Council, Merrill

Appearances Against

• Dave Matthes, Wisconsin Independent Livestock Dealers Association, Viola

Appearances for Information Only

- John Exner, Midwest Food Processors Association, Madison
- Todd Flemming, Equity Livestock, Baraboo
- George Roemer, Equity Livestock, Baraboo

Registrations For

- Brad Legreid, WI Dairy Products Association, Middleton
- Robert Fourdraine, Wisconsin Livestock Identification Consortium, Verona
- Keri Retallick, Wisconsin Pork Association, Lancaster
- Patrick Fitzgibbons, Peck Meat Packing, Milwaukee
- Richard Keller, Wisconsin Farmers Union, Mt. Horeb
- Christopher Sosnay, Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Leslie Grendahl, WI Veterinary Medical Association, Madison
- John Umhoefer, WI Cheesemakers Association, Madison

Registrations Against

• None.

February 19, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Molepske.

Absent: (2) Representatives Suder and Hebl.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRB s0372** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Suder and Hebl.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRB s0372 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRB s0372** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Suder and Hebl.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRB s0372 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Bill 812** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Suder and Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Erin Napralla Committee Clerk