## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Financial Institutions**

#### **Assembly Bill 591**

Relating to: recording and filing documents with the offices of register of deeds and the Department of Financial Institutions.

By Representatives F. Lasee, Kerkman, M. Lehman, Seratti, Hahn, Hundertmark, Ladwig, McCormick, Olsen, Hines, Kestell, Weber, Van Roy, Townsend, Bies, LeMahieu, Gunderson and Vrakas; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Roessler, Wirch, Lassa and Breske.

October 15, 2003 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions.

November 20, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (12) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Townsend, Kerkman, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams, Shilling, Zepnick,

Taylor and Molepske.

Absent: (4) Representatives Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert and

Towns.

### Appearances For

Appearances Against

- Representative Frank Lasee, 2nd Assembly District
- Marvel Lemke, Taylor County Register of Deeds, 324 S. Second Street, Medford, WI 54451
- John La Fave, Milwaukee County Register of Deeds, 901 N.
   9th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53233
- Kathryn Carlson, DFI, 345 W Washington, Madison

□ None.
Appearances for Information Only  ☐ Jodi Bloch, Wisconsin Bankers Association, 4721 S Biltmore Lane, Madison
Registrations For

Registrations For		
	Representative Samatha Kerkman, 66th Assembly District	
	Matt Stohr, WI Counties Association, 22 E. Mifflin St, Suited	
	900, Madison, WI	
	Cathy Williquette, Brown County Register of Deeds, PO Box	
	23600, Green Bay, WI 54305	

Susan Winnighoff, Winnebago County Register of Deeds, 415 Jackson Street, Oshkosh, WI 54903
Rene Krause, Wood County of Deeds, 400 Market Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Connie Woolever, Walworth Co Register of Deeds, Elkhorn,
WI 53121 Betty Bolton, Vernon County Register of Deeds, 400 West
Decker, Viroqua, WI 54665 Rose Ottum, Trempealeau County Register of Deeds, 24365
Main Street, Whitehall, WI 54773 Kathleen Walsh, St. Croix County Register of Deeds, 1101
Carmichael Road, Hudson, WI 54016 Darlene Navis, Sheboygan County Register of Deeds, 508 New
York Ave, Sheboygan, WI 53082 Paula Chisser, Sawyer Couty Register of Deeds, PO Box 686,
Hayward, WI 54843 Cynthia Wisinski, Portage County Register of Deeds, 1516
Church Street, Stevens Point, WI 54481 Connie Olson, Pierce Co Register of Deeds, 414 W Main
Street, Ellsworth, WI 54011 Rita Conlin, Pepin County Register of Deeds, 740 7th Ave,
Durand, WI 54736 Janice Flenz, Outagamie County Register of Deeds, 410 S.
Walnut St, Appleton, WI 54811 Loralee Lasley, Oconto County Register of Deeds, 301
Washington Street, Oconto, WI 54143 Melanie Huempfner, Marinette Co Register of Deeds, 1926
Hall Ave, Marinette, WI 54143
Deborah Flock, 400 North 4th Street, La Crosse, La Crosse, WI 54601
Louise Principe, 1010 56th Street, Kenosha, Kenosha, WI 53140
Larry Eckert, Jefferson County Register of Deeds, 320 S Main Street, Jefferson, WI 53548
Marilyn Jadin, Door County Register of Deeds, 421 Nebraska St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Dixie Edge, Iowa County Register of Deeds, 222 North Iowa Street, Dodgeville, WI 53533
Kathleen Hanson, Douglas County Register of Deeds, 1313 Belknap St, Superior, WI 54488
Lois Hagedorn, Clark County Register of Deeds, 517 Court
Street, Neillsville, WI 54456 Marge Geissler, 711 North Bridge Street, Chippewa Falls,
Chippewa Falls, WI 54729 Jodi Helgeson, Adams County Register of Deeds, PO Box 2129, Friendship, WI 53934

□ Marillyn Mueller, 613 Dodge Street, 613 Dodge Street, Kewaunee, WI 54216
 □ Preston Jones, WI Register of Deeds Association, 1010 S 8th Street, Manitowoc, WI

#### Registrations Against

□ None.

#### January 8, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (16) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald,
Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert, Townsend,
Kerkman, Towns, Nischke, Richards, Sherman,
A. Williams, Shilling, Zepnick, Taylor and
Molepske.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Substitute Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (16) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Towns, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams, Shilling, Zepnick, Taylor and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative Shilling that **Assembly Bill 591** be recommended for passage as amended

Ayes: (16) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Towns, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams, Shilling, Zepnick, Taylor and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Michael Mathy Committee Clerk