

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Assembly Journal

Ninety-Third Regular Session

6:30 P.M.

WEDNESDAY, January 29, 1997

The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.

Speaker Brancel in the chair.

The prayer was offered by Representative R. Potter.

Representative Gard led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Present - Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Baldwin, Baumgart, Black, Bock, Boyle, Brandemuehl, Carpenter, Coggs, Cullen, Dobyns, Dueholm, Duff, Foti, Freese, Gard, Goetsch, Green, Gronemus, Grothman, Gunderson, Hahn, Handrick, Hanson, Harsdorf, Hasenohrl, Hebl, Hoven, Huber, Hubler, Huebsch, Hutchison, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Kaufert, Kedzie, Kelso, Klusman, Kreibich, Kreuser, Krug, Krusick, Kunicki, La Fave, Ladwig, F. Lasee, Lazich, J. Lehman, M. Lehman, Linton, Lorge, Meyer, Morris-Tatum, Murat, Musser, Nass, Notestein, Olsen, Ott, Otte, Ourada, Owens, Plale, Plouff, Porter, R. Potter, Powers, Reynolds, Riley, Robson, Rutkowski, Ryba, Schafer, Schneider, Seratti, Skindrud, Springer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Sykora, Travis, Turner, Underheim, Urban, Vander Loop, Vrakas, Walker, Ward, Wasserman, Wieckert, Williams, Wood, L. Young, R. Young, Ziegelbauer, Zukowski and Speaker Brancel – 99.

Absent with leave - None.

INTRODUCTION AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read first time and referred:

Assembly Bill 34

Relating to: privileged communications between spouses.

By Representatives Dobyns, Hahn, Porter, Musser, Ladwig, Huber, La Fave, Handrick, Kelso, Skindrud, Nass, Freese, Grothman, Gard, Otte, Seratti, Goetsch, Brandemuehl, Ainsworth, Olsen, M. Lehman, Powers, Ott, Vrakas, Gunderson and Kaufert; cosponsored by Senators Farrow, Buettner, Welch, Plache and Rosenzweig.

To committee on Criminal Justice and Corrections.

Assembly Bill 35

Relating to: the minimum number of persons required on train crews, granting rule—making authority and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Dobyns, Schneider, Lorge, Hahn, Ourada, Black, M. Lehman, Musser, Johnsrud, Ryba, Albers, Bock, Freese, Ziegelbauer, Gunderson, Murat, Boyle, Vander Loop, Seratti, Baumgart, La Fave, Plale, Plouff, Meyer, Huber, Olsen, Baldwin, F. Lasee, Urban, Hanson, Hoven, Powers, Schafer, Linton, Riley, Huebsch, Gronemus, L. Young, Zukowski, Kunicki and Travis; cosponsored by Senators Jauch, Wineke, Rude, Wirch, Schultz, Risser, Grobschmidt, C. Potter, Moore and George.

To committee on **Highways and Transportation**.

Assembly Bill 36

Relating to: background investigations of applicants for employment in, and employes of, private schools participating in the Milwaukee parental choice program.

By Representatives Murat, Wasserman, Kreuser, Linton, Dueholm, Meyer, R. Young, Riley, Hasenohrl, Hanson, Powers, Huber, Musser, La Fave, Boyle, Black, Seratti, Gunderson, Dobyns, Plale, Kaufert, Vander Loop, Cullen and J. Lehman; cosponsored by Senators Breske, Rude, Moen, Wineke, Clausing, Plache and Huelsman.

To committee on Education.

Assembly Bill 37

Relating to: making the establishment of the school calendar a permissive subject of collective bargaining for municipal employers.

By Representatives Brandemuehl, Nass, Duff, Ainsworth, Jensen, Powers, Goetsch, Seratti, Vrakas, Handrick, F. Lasee, Skindrud and Grothman; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Huelsman, Fitzgerald, Zien and Farrow.

To committee on **Labor and Employment**.

Assembly Bill 38

Relating to: exempting certain telecommunications services from the sales tax.

By Representatives Schneider, Brandemuehl, Turner, Gronemus and Plale.

To joint survey committee on **Tax Exemptions**.

Assembly Bill 39

Relating to: the number of days on which school districts must hold school each year.

By Representatives Duff, Nass, Albers, Ainsworth, Gunderson, Dobyns, Goetsch, Skindrud and Ryba; cosponsored by Senator Buettner.

To committee on Education.

Assembly Bill 40

Relating to: the appointment of a person to act as a village trustee or common council member.

By Representatives Duff, Gunderson, Kedzie, Kaufert, Schafer, Zukowski, Dobyns and Plale; cosponsored by Senators Grobschmidt and Cowles.

To committee on Urban and Local Affairs.

Assembly Bill 41

Relating to: requiring the installation and use of white strobe lights on school buses.

By Representatives Olsen, Otte, Hahn, Baumgart, M. Lehman, Plale, Kelso, Freese, Cullen, Dobyns, Gronemus, Goetsch, Gunderson, Powers and Ott; cosponsored by Senators Drzewiecki, Grobschmidt, Welch and Buettner.

To committee on Mandates.

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

By Donald J. Schneider, Senate Chief Clerk.

Mr. Speaker:

I am directed to inform you that the Senate has

Adopted and asks concurrence in:

Senate Joint Resolution 3

Senate Joint Resolution 4

Senate Joint Resolution 6

ACTION ON THE SENATE MESSAGE

Senate Joint Resolution 3

Relating to: proclaiming National Garden Week in Wisconsin.

By Senators C. Potter, Plache and Moen; cosponsored by Representatives Ziegelbauer, Freese, Ryba, Otte, Gronemus, Coggs, Plouff and Baumgart, by request of Nature's Own Gardeners, Manitowoc.

To committee on Rules.

Senate Joint Resolution 4

Relating to: proclaiming the week of June 29 to July 5, 1997, National 4th Infantry Division Week.

By Senators C. Potter, Breske, Buettner, Moen, Drzewiecki, Grobschmidt, Fitzgerald, Plache, Wirch and Zien; cosponsored by Representatives Otte, Baumgart, Urban, Murat, Musser, Ziegelbauer, Huebsch, Turner, Hahn, Ryba, Dobyns, Gronemus, Seratti, Kreuser, Plouff, Olsen, Goetsch, Grothman and Springer, by request of WI Chapter of the 4th Infantry Division Assn..

To committee on Rules.

Senate Joint Resolution 6

Relating to: commending the Green Bay Packers on their Super Bowl victory.

By Senators Drzewiecki, Cowles, Chvala, Ellis, Adelman, Breske, Buettner, Burke, Clausing, Darling, Decker, Farrow, Fitzgerald, George, Grobschmidt, Huelsman, Jauch, A. Lasee, Moen, Moore, Panzer, Plache, C. Potter, Risser, Rosenzweig, Rude, Schultz, Shibilski,

Weeden, Welch, Wineke, Wirch and Zien; cosponsored by Representatives Ryba and Kelso.

To committee on Rules.

The Assembly was called to order by Speaker Brancel.

Speaker Brancel appointed Representatives Wieckert and Hanson to escort the Governor from his office to the Assembly Chamber.

The Assembly stood informal.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms announced the arrival of the Honorable Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson and the honorable justices of the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Assembly stood informal.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms announced the arrival of the members of the Senate.

JOINT CONVENTION

The houses went into joint convention.

Senate President Risser presiding.

Senator Risser recognized the presence of Lieutenant Governor Scott McCallum, State Treasurer Jack Voight, Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, Justice Jon Wilcox, Justice Janine Geske and Justice Patrick Crooks.

The Assembly Sergeant–at–arms Announced the arrival of Governor Thompson.

Governor Thompson took his place at the rostrum to deliver his state of the state address.

Pursuant to Joint Rule 73, the governor's message is printed in the Senate journal only.

Representative Foti moved that the joint convention arise.

The question was: Shall the joint convention arise?

Motion carried.

8:00 P.M.

The Assembly reconvened.

Speaker Brancel in the chair.

ADJOURNMENT

Representative Foti moved that the Assembly stand adjourned until 10:00 A.M. tomorrow.

The question was: Shall the Assembly stand adjourned?

Motion carried.

The Assembly stood adjourned.

8:02 P.M.