cine shall constitute the first congressional district, and shall elect one representative.

- SEC. 3. The counties of Rock, Green, La Fayette, Grant, Dane, Iowa, Sauk, Richland, Crawford, Adams, Portage; Chippewa, La Pointe and St. Croix shall constitute the second congressional district, and shall elect one representative.
- SEC. 4. Phe-counties of Washington, Sheboygan, Manitowoe, Brown, Winnebago, Calumet, Fond du Lac, Marquette, Dodge, Jefferson and Columbia, shall constitute the third congressional district, and shall elect one representative.

N. E. WHITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES, President of the Senate.

Approved June 29, 1848.
NELSON DEWEY.

AN ACT accepting the grant of land made by Congress to aid in the improvement of the Fox and Wisconsin rivers.

The people of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The assent of the state of Wisconsin is hereby given to the act of congress entitled "An act to grant a certain quantity of land to aid in the improvement of the Fox and Wisconsin rivers and to connect the same by a canal in the territory of Wisconsin" Approved August 8th, 1846.

N. E. WHITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES, President of the Senate.

Approved June 29, 1848.
NELSON DEWEY.